State of New Hampshire

MANUAL

for the

GENERAL COURT

1971

No. 42

PREPARED AND PUBLISHED BY THE DEPARTMENT OF STATE

ROBERT L. STARK
SECRETARY OF STATE

Concord, New Hampshire
1971

GENERAL ELECTION

Dist. No. 19 (Dover, Ward 4)	
*Harriett W. B. Richardson, r	1238
*Aram Parnagian, r	1179
*Paul L. Kinney, r	1011
*L. James DeWolfe, Jr., r	1006
Wayne Gagnon, d	902
John M. Emerson, d	822
3	
Dist. No. 20 (Dover, Ward 5)	
*John Maglaras, d	351
William K. Kincaid, r	165
CHILLIAN COUNTY	
SULLIVAN COUNTY	
Dist. No. 1 (Grantham, Plainfield)	
*Sara M. Townsend, r, Plainfield	316
Alfred M. Holmes, d, Grantham	137
Vernon Hood, Plainfield	3
Dist. No. 2 (Cornish, Croydon)	
*Donald R. Chase, d, Croydon	248
George A. Barrus, r, Cornish	230
75' . 37 . 0 / 63 317 . 1.45	
Dist. No. 3 (Claremont, Ward 1)	
*Omer A. Rousseau, d	608
*William L. Gaffney, d	527
Sydney J. Clark, r	452
Harold G. Crossman, r	358
Dist. No. 4 (Claremont, Ward 2)	
*Sam J. Nahil, r	1171
*George W. Angus, r	1152
*Roma A. Spaulding, r	1138
*Allan P. Campbell, r	1127
Michael A. Satzow, d	883
Ruth Hamilton	2
Adolph Baron	1
Arthur Barrow	1
Mary Barton	1
Carmen D'Amante	1
Albert Graham	1
Anthony Leahy	1
Dist. No. 5 (Claremont, Ward 3)	
*Carmine F. D'Amante, d	749
*Adolph J. Burrows, d	693
*Arthur W. Barrows, d	681
Ruth M. Hamilton, r	512

Dist. No. 6 (Newport)	
*James A. Saggiotes, r	1088
*Jacob M. Shulins, r	1081
*Maurice J. Downing, d	1050
*Gordon B. Flint, Jr., r	1038
William F. Tracey, d	909
Arron E. Budnitz, d	842
Gladys D. Roe, r	834
Beatrice R. Hitchcock, d	778
Deather R. Intenedea, a	770
Dist. No. 7 (Charlestown, Unity)	
*Martha McD. Frizzell, r, Charlestown	596
*Donald B. Galbraith, r, Charlestown	577
Roy A. Jewell, d, Charlestown	358
aro, in John, a, Charlestonia in the control of the	550
Dist. No. 8 (Springfield, Sunapee)	
*Joseph O. Fleming, r, Sunapee	536
Joseph O. Fleming, d, Sunapee	115
Dist. No. 9 (Acworth, Goshen, Langdon, Lempster, Washington)	
*Stanley H. Williamson, r, Goshen	454
Stanley H. Williamson, d, Goshen	75

RECOUNTS AFTER THE GENERAL ELECTION

In this chapter may be found a brief description of the recounts of ballots held by the Secretary of State after the general election of November 3, 1970.

On November 13, 1970, the Governor and Council voted to accept a petition to recount the ballots cast on Question No. 3, the proposed amendment relative to annual sessions as proposed to the voters of New Hampshire at the November 3, 1970 election, as submitted by Representative John M. Bednar of Hudson, et al., and ordered the Secretary of State to recount said ballots.

The recount was held November 23 and 24, 1970, and Question No. 3 did not receive the required two-thirds votes of the qualified voters present and voting upon the said question.

The following figures are the result of the recount on Question No. 3:

Yes 124,078

No 62,812

Below, in the first column are the figures as officially returned to the Secretary of State following the election. The second column contains the recount figures.

In all, fourteen recounts were conducted: State Senator, District No. 8; ten for Representatives, two for Supervisors, and one for Moderator.

As a result of the recount, there were no changes of candidates.

SENATORIAL DISTRI			FRANKLIN — Wa		
Edward J. Bennett, r Harry V. Spanos, d	4395 4454		Robert F. Goodearl, r A. Stephen Greeley, r Iohn Chapley, d Leo U. Laroche, d	394 555 450 442	395 544* 451* 438
REPRESENTATI					
BERLIN — War			KEENE — Ward	1	
Hilda C. F. Brungot, r Percy W. McCuin, r George W. Oswell, r Lucien F. Fortier, d George E. Lemire, d Donald W. Williams, d	1069 951 911 762 899 802	951* 916* 763 898 801	Wayne E. Helie, r Sumner W. Raymond, r Richard O. Vogel, r Jeremiah J. Keating, d Robert L. Mallat, Jr., d Gregory Peters, d	571 594 597 429 576 341	581 595* 599* 434 582* 353
CONCORD Wa	ard 9		KEENE Ward	2	
Lee D. MacCleery, r Kenneth M. Tarr, d	333 338	326 341*	H. Robie Ames, r Stephen W. Pollock, Sr., r Bradley A. Bickford, d	377 348 209	374* 344 208
DOVER War	d 1		Michael J. Saunders, d	366	354*
Max W. Leighton, r Raymond B. Peabody, r Harry H. Pray, r Alice F. Blanchette, d Albert L. Nelson, d Paul H. Pike, d	686 699 642 734 612 606	687* 696* 643 -726* 607	KEENE — Ward Lawrence H. MacKenzie, r Philip D. Moran, r R. J. Shortlidge, Jr., d Jeffery B. Wood, d		963* 967* 910 378

PORTSMOUTH — Ward Joseph N. Desrochers, r 121 John E. Katkin, r 101 Wayne T. Bowlen, d 126 Shirley M. Croft, d 130	6 121 101 126* 130*	Malcolm J. Stevenson, r John H. Tilton, r Hugh J. Gallen, d	1468 1581 1232	1466* 1578* 1234
SALEM		CARROLL		
Donald E. Barron, r 2478 Ieanette Gelt, r 2431 Bessie M. Morrison, r 2547 James A. Sayer, r 2666 Philip A. Smith, r 2766 Ralph W. Smith, r 1874 Laurence N. Belair, d 2625 Anthony DeCesare, Jr., d 1953	2200 2443* 2567* 2660* 2774* 1903 2621* 1980	Gustave A. Olsen, r Wellington D. Boynton Fred Staples Daniel Worcester		64 67* 1 5
Claude Jobin, d 1822	1823	CHECK-LIST		
Ann Leslie, d 2149 Robert Emmett O'Neil, d 2190	2171 2221*	DOVER — War		
GRAFTON COUNTY	2221"	Annetta L. Ellis, r Alice F. Blanchette, d	700 874	590 759*
District No. 1		EPPING		
Van H. Gardner, r 1634 Marcia Tefft Rich, r 1461	1623* 1441*	Madeline Downing, r Eileen C. Murphy, d	258 260	254 259*

AUTHORIZED POLITICAL EXPENDITURES PERMITTED

1972

(Based on 15 cents per qualified voter)

Below is a list indicating the number of qualified voters at the biennial election of 1970 for the following offices:

Office C	ualified Voters
Governor	386,890
U. S. Senator	386.890
Representative in Congress	500,050
First District	194,541
Representative in Congress	·
Second District	192,358
Councilor 1st Dist.	62,076
Councilor 2nd Dist.	89,001
Councilor 3rd Dist.	75,414
Councilor 4th Dist.	89,748
Councilor 5th Dist.	70,651 13,784
Senator 1st Dist. Senator 2nd Dist.	14,416
Senator 2rid Dist.	16,357
Senator 4th Dist.	19.184
Senator 5th Dist.	14,834
Senator 6th Dist.	15,312
Senator 7th Dist.	16,224
Senator 8th Dist.	16,101
Senator 9th Dist.	17,893
Senator 10th Dist.	14,437
Senator 11th Dist	16,242
Senator 12th Dist	21,284
Senator 13th Dist	13,461
Senator 14th Dist.	19,292
Senator 15th Dist.	15,234
Senator 16th Dist.	12,100
Senator 17th Dist.	12,855
Senator 18th Dist.	13,312
Senator 19th Dist.	21,778 16,510
Senator 20th Dist. Senator 21st Dist.	15,830
Senator 22nd Dist.	21.052
Senator 23rd Dist.	17.825
Senator 24th Dist.	11,573
	22,070
County Offices	
Sheriffs, Register of Deeds, Registers of Probate, County Attorney, Co	unty Treasurer
Belknap	18,868
Carroll	13,210
Cheshire	26,212
Coos	20,174
Grafton	28,693
Hillsborough	112,554
Merrimack	45,036
Rockingham	68,289
Strafford Sullivan	37,757
Sullivan	16,101

AUTHORIZED POLITICAL EXPENDITURES PERMITTED

1972

(Based on 15 cents per qualified voter)

Below is a list indicating the number of qualified voters at the biennial election of 1970 for county commissioners in the commissioner districts:

COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

County	Qualified Voters
Belknap Carroll Cheshire	
District No. 1 District No. 2 District No. 3	10,283
Coos District No. 1 District No. 2 District No. 3	4,990
Grafton District No. 1 District No. 2 District No. 3	8,027
Hillsborough District No. 1 District No. 2 District No. 3	24,411
Merrimack District No. 1 District No. 2 District No. 3	12,105
Rockingham District No. 1 District No. 2 District No. 3	28,668
Strafford	37,757
Sullivan	16,101



