State of New Hampshire

MANUAL

for the

GENERAL COURT

1979

No. 46

PUBLISHED BY THE DEPARTMENT OF STATE

> WILLIAM M. GARDNER SECRETARY OF STATE

ROBERT P. AMBROSE DEPUTY SECRETARY OF STATE

Concord, New Hampshire

1979

District No. 1 (Grantham, Plainfield) (1)	
*Sara M. Townsend, r & d, Plainfield	658
District No. 2 (Cornish, Croydon) (1)	
George A. Barrus, r, Cornish	209
*Edmund R. Belak, Jr., d, Cornish	331
District No. 3 (Claremont — Ward 1) (2)	
*Sim R. Gray, d, Claremont	504
*Donald H. LeBrun, d, Claremont	535
District No. 4 (Claremont — Ward 2) (3)	
*Mable G. Cutting, r, Claremont	1,023
*Roma A. Spaulding, r, Claremont	1,035
*John B. Tucker, r, Claremont	1,129
Lorraine J. Boardman, d, Claremont	748
Alton Desnoyer, d, Claremont	717
Pascal L. Ricci, d, Claremont	605
District No. 5 (Claremont — Ward 3) (3)	
*Robert J. Brodeur, d, Claremont	734
*Adolph J. Burrows, d & r, Claremont	932
*Carmine F. D'Amante, d & r, Claremont	1,003
District No. 6 (Newport) (3)	0(0
Alexander P. Lewko, r, Newport	862
*Sky M. Lucas, r & d, Newport	1,305
Jesse W. Scott, r, Newport	875
*David B. Campbell, d, Newport	946
*Harry V. Spanos, d, Newport	1,021
District No. 7 (Charlestown, Unity) (2)	0(7
*Frederick J. Domini, Sr., r, Charlestown	867
*Walter H. Palmer, r, Charlestown	921
District No. 8 (Springfield, Sunapee) (1)	936
*George I. Wiggins, r, Sunapee	836
District No. 9 (Acworth, Goshen, Langdon, Lempster, Washington) (1)	500
*Stanley H. Williamson, r & d, Goshen	592
Mildred S. Ingram, Ind., Acworth	398

RECOUNTS AFTER THE GENERAL ELECTION

After the general election, there were nine requests for recounts received.

On November 20, 1978, two senatorial district races were recounted, Senate District No. 7 and Senate District No. 14. In Senate District No. 7, John P. H. Chandler, Jr. was declared the winner; however, Peter Allen won the recount. There was no change in the Senate District No. 14 race.

One recount, for Representative to the General Court in Merrimack County, District No. 7 (Allenstown, Pembroke), was conducted on November 21, 1978. There was no change.

On November 27, 1978, five recounts for Representative to the General Court were conducted: Keene Ward 1, Keene Ward 4, Windham, Salem, and Merrimack County District No. 5 (Bow, Dunbarton). After the recount in Keene Ward 4, Floyd Kohl and Albert Munichiello were tied. The tie was determined by lot and Albert Munichiello was the winner.** There were no changes in the other Representative races.

The final recount was held November 27, 1978. This was for Strafford County Commissioner and there was no change.

Following are the tables, with the persons elected indicated by an asterisk.

^{**}Breaking the tie by lot was appealed to the Ballot Law Commission and the Commission ordered a run-off election. The Ballot Law Commission decision was appealed to the House of Representatives. On January 3, 1979, the House of Representatives ordered a run-off election.

Recount

STATE SENATOR District No. 7 John P. H. Chandler, Jr., r Peter Allen, d	5,929 5,876	6,032 6,042*
STATE SENATOR District No. 14 Phyllis M. Keeney, r Thomas J. Claveau, d	4,212 4,215	4,216 4,234*

REPRESENTATIVES TO THE GENERAL COURT

Merrimack County District No. 7 Edward J. Allgeyer, r Bonnie B. Brady, r Eugene L. Pelletier, r Louis A. Savaria, r Edgar G. Bellerose, d Mark M. Bodi, d Ovila Gamache, d Robert E. Plourde, d	1,324 1,227 1,157 1,230 1,471 1,615 958 1,258	1,325* 1,226 1,156 1,225 1,471* 1,618* 949 1,256*
Keene Ward 1 Zoe Vrakatitsis, r Terry A. Bishop, d Margaret A. Lynch, d & r	470 351 550	573* 513 775*
**Keene Ward 4 Floyd A. Kohl, r Robert Eisengrein, d Albert J. Munichiello, d Stuart V. Nims, d & r	748 1,073 739 1,332	756 1,111* 756 1,355*
Windham Juanita E. Kashulines, r Patricia M. Skinner, r & d M. Virginia Brady, d	754 1,222 683	748* 1,209* 695
Salem Marilyn R. Campbell, r Amelia Coen, r Joan E. Espinola, r Harriette L. Ford, r Beverly A. Gage, r Katherine E. Kelley, r Arthur O. Shurtleff, Jr., r Donna P. Sytek, r Elsie Vartanian, r Raymond W. Wood, r Bernard A. Yokich, r Mary E. Bazin, d Eleanor F. Carpenito, d Michael A. Collins, d Fred M. Cunningham, d Beatrice M. Laycock, d Anne Leslie, d Patricia A. McCarthy, d Irene M. McCurie, d Joseph L. Parolise, d Phyllis J. Pucci, d Fred Smith, d	3,559 1,725 1,855 2,077 2,859 2,276 2,230 3,325 2,323 1,980 1,732 1,843 2,334 3,065 1,885 2,935 2,465 2,057 1,732 2,997 2,823 2,947	3,555* 1,731 1,855 2,080 2,862* 2,256 2,132 3,319* 2,323* 2,011 1,725 1,852 2,371* 3,071* 1,857 2,956* 2,481* 2,072 1,735 2,990* 2,772* 2,964*
Merrimack County District No. 5 Richard D. Hanson, r Peter M. Stio, r F. Alison Curling, d Julie Blake Williams, d	1,245 940 917 561	1,246* 936* 914 562

STRAFFORD COUNTY COMMISSIONER

Laurence P. Keenan, r	10,671	10,656
Ernest J. Ross, r	8,135	8,138
George A. Young, r	11,232	11,259*
Margaret M. Fennelly, d	10,749	10,825*
John L. Flanagan, d	12,005	12,005*
Shirley J. White, d	10,377	10,518



and the second second

Construction of the second second

Fig. 2. Statistics of the second statistical statistics of the second statistics of the second statistics.