# State of New Hampshire

# MANUAL

### for the

## General Court

2015

No. 64

PUBLISHED BY THE DEPARTMENT OF STATE

William M. Gardner Secretary of State

Robert P. Ambrose Senior Deputy Secretary of State

> David M. Scanlan Deputy Secretary of State

> > Compiled by Karen H. Ladd

#### CHANGE IN POLLING HOUR QUESTIONS

The following question was submitted to the voters in certain towns under the provisions of RSA 659:4-a at the November 4, 2104 general election.

"Polling hours in the town of Jefferson are now 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Shall we change polling hours so that polls shall open at 11:00 a.m. and close at 7:00 p.m. for all regular state elections beginning in September 13, 2016?"

YES 76 NO 169

"Polling hours in the town of Monroe are now 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. Shall we change polling hours so that polls shall open at 11:00 a.m. and close at 7:00 p.m. for all regular state elections beginning in September 13, 2016?"

YES 138 NO 181

#### LIQUOR QUESTIONS

The following questions were submitted to the voters in the Town of Sharon under the provisions of RSA 663:5 at the November 4, 2014 general election.

(a) Shall state stores be operated by permission of the state liquor commission in this city or town?

YES 122 NO 67

(b) Shall malt beverages (beer) be sold by permission of the state liquor commission in this city or town?

YES 135 NO 53

(c) Shall wines containing not less than 6 percent nor more than 15.5 percent of alcoholic content by volume at 60 degrees Fahrenheit (table wine) be sold by permission of the state liquor commission in this city or town?

YES 135 NO 53

(d) Shall liquor be sold for consumption on the premises where sold by permission of the state liquor commission in this city or town?

YES 137 NO 49

#### **RECOUNTS AFTER THE GENERAL ELECTION**

Nineteen requests for recounts were received after the general election – three of which were ties. Other than the ties, there were no changes in winners as a result of the recounts. The recounts for State Representative in Rockingham County District No. 21 and Hillsborough County District No. 28 were appealed to the Ballot Law Commission. There were no changes in winners as a result of the Ballot Law Commission meeting. Below, in the first column are the figures as officially returned to the Secretary of State, the second column contains the recount figures and the third column contains the figures as a result the Ballot Law Commission hearing. Asterisks designate the person elected.

State Senate District No. 7		
Andrew J. Hosmer, d	9,543*	9,578*
Kathleen Lauer-Rago, r	9,411	9,423

#### STATE REPRESENTATIVE

Cheshire County District No. 12		
Ben Tilton, d	1,276*	1,272*
Jim McConnell, r	1,240*	1,244*
F. Barrett Faulkner, d	1,240*	1,241
Richard Sainsbury, r	1,077	1,080
Grafton County District No. 7		
Eric Johnson, r	640*	640*
Jim Aguiar, d	634	634
Grafton County District No. 9		
Jeff Shackett, r	1,982*	1,972*
Robert Hull, r	1,574*	1,615*
Judy Wallick, d	1,536	1,499
Jeremy J. Olson, d	1,010	990
Eric T. Rottenecker, r (write-in)	18	57
Hillsborough County District No. 4		
Kermit Williams, d	1,735*	1,767*
Carol R. Roberts, d	1,714*	1,734*
Katie Schwanke, r	1,694	1,706
Donnie Sawin, r	1,523	1,542

Hillsborough County District No. 5			
William L. O'Brien, r	1,744*	1,745*	
David Woodbury, d	1,635*	1,637*	
William Sanborn Foster, r	1,556	1,557	
Albert J. LaChance, d	1,340	1,341	
Hillsborough County District No. 16			
Barbara Shaw, d	1,376*	1,382*	
Victoria Sullivan, r	1,073*	1,077*	
Steven Stefanik, r	1,071	1,074	
David McCloskey, d	970	971	
Hillsborough County District No. 17			
Timothy J. Smith, d	1,178*	1,188*	
Tammy Simmons, r	1,126*	1,125*	
Jon Hopwood, d	1,075	1,084	
Dan Garthwaite, r	1,072	1,075	
Dan Gartifwalte, I	1,072	1,075	
Hillsborough County District No. 22			
Robert Rowe, r	2,892*	2,896*	
Stephen Stepanek, r	2,853*	2,858*	
Peter T. Hansen, r	2,838*	2,840*	
Shannon E. Chandley, d	2,794	2,798	
Julie Radhakrishnan, d	2,134	2,131	
Hillsborough County District No. 28			
Carl W. Seidel, r	1,929*	1,932*	1,932*
Elizabeth Ferreira, r	1,793*	1,798*	1,798*
Eric R. Eastman, r	1,641*	1,646*	1,646*
Sylvia E. Gale, d	1,634	1,640	1,640
Jan Schmidt, d	1,626	1,632	1,632
Thomas D. Woodward, d	1,552	1,561	1,561
Hillsborough County District No. 34			
Timothy Soucy, d	1,222*	1,227*	
Timothy Twombly, r	1,116*	1,118*	
Edith Hogan, r	1,100*	1,110	
Allison Nutting, d	1,067	1,072	
Duane Erickson, r	999	998	
Michael Alexander Garcia, d	999 750	754	
Michael Alexander Garcia, d	/30	/34	

Hillsborough County District No. 43	2 020*	2 097*	
Kathleen Souza, r	3,980* 3,751*	3,987* 3,759*	
Benjamin C. Baroody, d Christopher J. Herbert, d	3,647*	3,664*	
	3,627	3,638	
Tim O'Flaherty, d Timothy Prescott, r	3,332	3,339	
Richard H. Olson, Jr., r	3,144	3,153	
Kichard H. Olson, JL, I	3,144	5,155	
Merrimack County District No. 2	0.524	0.524	
Werner D. Horn, r	852*	853*	
Harold F. French, r	841*	844*	
Scott A. Burns, d	840	841	
Lucy Natkiel, d	746	746	
Merrimack District No. 4			
Douglas B. Long, r	786*	783*	
Tom Schamberg, d	758	768	
Merrimack County District No. 6			
Barbara C. French, d	1,302*	1,298*	
Geoffrey Hirsch, d	1,224*	1,225*	
Mark H. Lindsley, r	1,215	1,215	
Riki P. Humboldt, r	938	940	
Merrimack County District No. 9			
Howard Moffett, d	1,660*	1,670*	
George L. Saunderson, d	1,479*	1,484*	
Michael Moffett, r	1,479*	1,478	
Kenneth Kreis, Sr., r	1,395	1,402	
Merrimack County District No. 26			
Jason R. Parent, r	3,272*	3,278*	
Lorrie J. Carey, d	3,185	3,269	
Rockingham County District No. 21			
Frederick C. Rice, r	3,667*	3,676*	3,676*
Tracy Emerick, r	3,507*	3,513*	3,513*
David Wood, r	3,119*	3,125*	3,125*
Robert Renny Cushing, d	3,019*	3,029*	3,030*
Ken Sheffert, r	3,019*	3,025	3,025
Michael Edgar, d	2,769	2,776	2,776
Frank D. DeLuca, d	2,626	2,635	2,635
George D. Harvey, d	2,339	2,347	2,347
Sullivan County District No. 4			
Larry Converse, d	699*	703*	
George T. Caccavaro, Jr., r	692	693	

